Board of Directors:

  • Thomas Broadwater, Zanesville, OH
  • James Clark, Pasadena, CA
  • Sonny Cruz, Raleigh, NC
  • The Rev. Alan Felton, Immediate Past President, Oxford, NC
  • The Rev. Sala Nolan Gonzales, Cleveland, OH
  • The Rev. Jimmie Hawkins, Treasurer, Durham, NC
  • David Kaczynski, President, Terlingua, TX
  • Katie Lacz, Louisville, CO
  • Dr. Tobias Winright, St. Louis, MO

Board of Advisors:

  • Julius Chambers*
  • Jimmy Creech
  • Julia Elsee
  • The Rev. W.W. Finlator*
  • Stanley Hauerwas
  • Malcolm Ray “Tye” Hunter
  • Sr. Joan Jurski, O.S.F.
  • Rev. Jim Lewis
  • Pat McCoy
  • Stephanie Phillippi
  • Sr. Helen Prejean, C.S.J.
  • Mary Rider
  • The Rev. Robert Seymour
  • Dean Smith*



Stephen Dear, Executive Director

Stephen Dear joined People of Faith Against the Death Penalty as executive director in September 1997. He is a native of Elizabeth City, NC, with a BA in Political Science from the University of Richmond, and an MA in International Studies from Claremont Graduate University. For five years in the 1990s he served as executive director of the NC Rural Communities Assistance Project, an organization that works to ensure affordable access to safe drinking water and sanitary waste disposal in low-income communities. He has also worked on the staffs of the Center for the Study of Responsive Law (Ralph Nader's office in Washington, DC), the Columban Fathers Justice and Peace Office (Washington, DC), and the Coalition for a New Foreign and Military Policy (Washington, DC). Stephen and his wife, Dr. Janet Dear, served in the Peace Corps in Malawi.